Living with a Bump

Pregnant BellyI cant believe I am already six months down the line, with D-Day moving closer all the time at quite a rapid pace. Or well, interestingly enough it feels like I have been pregnant for EVER, while at the same time I cant believe how time flies and that it is already July, while October is just around the corner really.

I have tried to read up on what exactly is happening during this time, and I must say I keep finding incredible facts about how amazingly well nature has arranged for it all. I keep sharing my “fun facts” with my poor colleague who has to listen to me 😉 But I think one day she will be grateful that I taught her things like:

  • During pregnancy the amount of blood you have in your body increases by about 50% compared to pre pregnancy
  • Your stomach muscles separate and slide to the sides during pregnancy to accommodate for the bump
  • Your body changes the amniotic fluid three times a day!

I am pretty impressed constantly about all the things my body manages. I do feel like I am very much just an observer at times (mind wise), watching how my baby and my body seem to know exactly what to do and I am just in it for the ride.

But I do try to keep up and learn some stuff myself so its not just my baby and body working. 😉 For example, I just received my Hypnobirthing book that I wanted to read as a complementary piece to the course we did earlier this summer. Thanks to the course and to the book I think I have learned quite a lot about what to do and what to expect with this whole adventure, and especially how I can just relax and let my baby and body get on with it. I think that must be the most difficult part for most women. Relying on your body to know what to do and to just relax.

So even if I am pretty relaxed about most things, I am realising I should definitely be taking many more pics of the bump! I have a few but I do want more.. You never know if this is a once in a lifetime experience, or just the first one and you will get another chance. I also think it might help me get to terms with the miracle that is happening just under my nose.. 😉

But for now, I will just head back to bed I think. I had to get up to have sth to eat earlier on, but I think I am ready for another little snooze now next to the gorgeous J.

Leave a Reply

