I Dream of Chickens

Lately I have been fighting the urge to steal some of the adorable chicks that hang out down by the guards house at the entrance to the area where we live. Partly because they are just so cute, and partly so that I can expand my self sufficient empire to include egg production in addition to my other attempts of food production.

This interest to grow my own vegetables started innocently enough with a few plants on the terrace (currently they are sadly just surviving rather than thriving plants..), but has little by little grown into a greater want to actually be more self sufficient. To be more exact, I want to get “back to basics”, to learn more about how to actually grow my own food, raise my own chicks and simply to be aware of what I put in me as well as how much effort actually goes into producing what you eat.

After months of googling and trial and error on my terrace, I decided its time to get some proper books on the topic. Since my sister was buying some holiday reading for her trip over here, I decided to put in a small order as well and decided on two books, “The Backyard Homestead” and “Homesteading” – Both comprehensive books on how to turn your little lot of land into a self sufficient paradise.

“The Backyard Homestead” seems absolutely wonderful. I read a few pages on Amazon via their excellent “Look inside” feature and that was the one I also started skimming through as soon as I got my hands on it. And just like the back cover already demands you to, it seems to be a fabulous all-round guide to putting “your backyard to work”, almost however small it is.

From its claims that a quarter of an acre could actually give me 1,400 eggs, 50 pounds of wheat, 60 pounds of fruit, 2,000 pounds of vegetables, 280 pounds of pork and 75 pounds of nuts, I am now greedily eyeing up our garden to see where I could set the chicks up and where I could hide the pigs so that our landlord (or our lovely little jealous dog Sofia) wouldnt be too upset about the new family expansion.

I guess all I need now is a supportive partner, and at least a quarter of an acre of land to get this little project off the ground. Judging by the teasing I am getting about this, I think the quarter of an acre of land will be the easy part…

Leave a Reply

