Guess!

Today I have been shopping 🙂 I was planning to do a massive shop when we went back to Europe, but unfortunately time was not on my side and due to all our other plans, my shopping just didn’t materialize. Well, I did manage to pick up a few of the things I wanted, in fact, so many things that I wouldn’t have been able to fit much else in my suitcase anyways, but it would still have been very nice to have gotten more things ticked off my shopping list.

So here I am then back in Costa Rica without half the things I had planned to buy. I was in desperate need of jeans as well as underwear, not to mention “work clothes” i.e. anything slightly nicer and more professional than just the tshirts I work in at the moment. I have not been overly keen on going shopping here before since everyone says its terribly expensive and that its definitely worth while going abroad for that. Then again, most people head over to the US for their shopping and if you are used to US prices then of course Costa Rica is going to be expensive. Europe is very expensive then as well.

Anyhow, I decided I would give the outlet stores just outside of Santa Ana a shot and that I would then head over to Multiplaza to have a look over there. On my shopping list were (still) jeans, flannel/checkered shirt, Van’s shoes and possibly something else just to complete the outfit. I found two very nice Nike t-shirts and to my own great surprise, two pairs of Levi’s jeans that actually fit very nicely in the outlet shops! It might have been the last traces of my hangover from Thursday night’s dinner that was playing tricks on me but I felt quite shocked by this fabulous shopping fortune!

Over at Multiplaza we strolled around, had some food and then set off on a more determined hunt for flannel shirts and Van’s for me. While strolling around some of the skate shops I came to realize (once again) how many fabulous clothes and shoes are on offer to men while the women’s department, especially in these shops, is just sad. Same thing with flannel shirts, tens of different styles on offer, and that’s only in ONE shop! Hmpf. And have you noticed how difficult it is to find anything that is not in the current season’s collection?

When we finally stumbled across a few very nice shirts in Guess I almost did a little skip out of happiness! Ironically I have always commented on the fact that I never find anything interesting in Guess when passing by the Guess shop in Covent Garden in London, while now I was in shopping heaven! I bought two lovely shirts and skipped out of there feeling like it had indeed been a very successful shopping trip!

I can’t wait to get to wear them to work next week – or like this lovely lady is wearing them in the Guess ads for this fall’s collection. I would like to find a nice pair of denim shorts though just like she has, just to complete the look. That’s actually the only thing I would really like to have to complete the look – I already got the handsome man by my side 😉

Leave a Reply

