Skulls and Caribbean Chicken

I know we are still a few months away, but the day of the dead has always fascinated me. I love the colours, the creativity and the festivity that surrounds the day and would love to be in Mexico one year to see the proper celebrations there instead of just enjoying the day via images on the net.

What I love the most about this holiday is the catrina’s, the skulls and the colours that surround the whole morbid celebration. I adore the intricate details about everything during this day, although, I guess to me the day in itself is not really that relevant (I pay attention to my loved ones that have passed away on a much more regular basis than just once a year), what matters to me is this attention to detail that the design elements of the day gets.

I would love to do a course in making catrinas, or painting skulls, or maybe baking random day of the dead cookies… I just need to find a place or a person who could show me all this..

I am still to discover something as exciting in Costa Rica’s annual cultural calendar although, this week’s “The Day of The Black Man/Woman” (El Dia del Negro) did somewhat catch me off guard. This day is an  acknowledgement of the achievements of the blacks who were brought into Costa Rica in the 19th century to help with the construction of the railway and multiple other things. Costa Rica observes the day in high festive spirit on the Caribbean side, while over here at my office we held a slightly more low key celebration and went out for lunch to a Caribbean lunch restaurant. I must say, it was a bit weird to have everyone congratulate my black colleague on this day like it was his birthday, but the food, especially the Rice & Beans with Caribbean Chicken that I had, was absolutely delicious and very appropriate for a proper celebration! I could definitely celebrate like this more often at the office.

So yes there are some things that have caught my interest over here in this part of Central America, but nothing has fascinated me as much as the Day of the Dead a few hundred kilometres up north. Then again, I have only been here for 6 months.. There is still a whole second half of the year to explore and I cant wait to see what it has in store..

Leave a Reply

