Fantasy Football

So I am playing Fantasy Football again this year. Last year I attempted it, I started off, I picked my league, I checked game week 1 results, and… Hmm… Then I have no recollection whatsoever of the whole thing anymore. Oops. Even if I dont know how things turned out for my team, my guess is they did not perform any miracles.

This year I am a bit more dedicated. At least I have chosen my team with care, I have joined two leagues to keep the excitement and competition going, I have even done a reshuffle of the team based on some good advice I got in order to be ready for game week 2. I even checked who is playing when AND have two bets placed for upcoming games. U-huh.. A Fantasy Football expert in the making…

My newly found interest in football (soccer, just to be a bit more specific and not confuse some people on this side of the pond) comes mainly from my work. I am sitting in the midst of a marketing department, which is nothing out of the ordinary or a big change from my previous work setting, but this time the people are much more focussed on the sports products we have rather than the other entertainment elements we also offer. And all I hear about is football. Both Soccer and American Football.

So I thought, if you cant beat them, join them. And here I am, with my fabulous team TheBarnacleBoys ready to beat the competition! Come On!

I am actually finding this regular ocurrance that sports is now having in my life quite interesting and fascinating. Working in such close contact with sports related products, the experience the Fantasy Football, the betting on sports and the reading about it is providing me with. Is actually helping me learn a lot about what our typical customers go through each day when they use our product.

So its all quite exciting. Unfortunately this is not really great for someone with such a short attention span as I have. The Fantasy Football League thingie goes on for months, in other words, its no sprint, its a full marathon! So we shall see how long I can keep my interest up. But for now, I think I am doing pretty well. Now bring on Game Week 2!!

Leave a Reply

