Surf Wear

For the first few months here I naively tried to surf in my normal Bikini. It all starts off well, I put it on, it sits nicely where it should sit as I carry the board down to the beach. I put the leash on. I start wading out into the waves. And BAM. Already the first wave to hit me usually manages to tug my bikini bottoms somewhat down, revealing an embarrassingly white bum, while simultaneously distracting me from the task at hand – Getting Out There with the board. This also sets the scene for what is to come…

So I am getting better at catching waves and the surfing part in general, but unfortunately, quite a few attempts still usually result in a wipe out, where both I, my bikini bottoms and my top suffer, ending up in a slight confusion about what was the task of each parties, especially the who should be covering what..

All this involuntary nudity finally led to me giving up and heading out to buy a new bikini. I ended up with a lovely one from 69 Slam that manages to keep all my assets in place while I can focus on the board and the waves and the wipe outs.

With this purchase, I also realised that my previous bikinis had all been bad at staying in place, and they all had one thing in common. They had movable parts attached to strings all over the place! Strings are not good in waves. Nor are movable parts. My new one has a band that holds the top in one place, helping it stay where you want it to be. Excellent!

I am now quite excited about this whole new world that is opening up to me. I can finally DO stuff in my bikini! Yay! So with this new knowledge I am now constantly eyeing up my possible next bikini purchase. Without falling into the typical error of stereotyping I will say that if you are a man you will now say, “Why do you need another one, you already have one”.. If you are a woman you will understand. Obviously its so I can have another great bikini to change to when I feel like it!

I have also started checking out next seasons stuff just so I am ready once the new collections hit the shops.. And OMG I want this one by Patagonia:

Love the colours, the cut and the bottoms! I want, I want, I want… Since patience is not one of my top virtues, I pray to god that the 2011 Collection will arrive in the shops soon! 🙂 (Including the ones in Costa Rica please!)

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Hanna on July 16, 2010 at 7:06 pm

    Vilken härlig text igen, Linda 🙂 Man blir på gott humör 🙂

    Reply

    • 🙂 Excellent! Mission accomplished! 😉
      Hoppas allt ar bra med dig annars och att Barcelona resan var SUPER! 🙂 Kram

      Reply

  2. […] this is exactly the opposite to what I was going on about in a past entry about Surf Wear, but I think you need to be prepared for everything – and hence have swimwear to suit every […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

