Force of Nature

Rainy Season Costa Rica

The rain here in Costa Rica is truly amazing, it is just so abundant and forceful, and most impressively, there is so much of it.  I have never seen anything like it.

The other week we were driving home from J’s work, and as we got on the ramp up to the highway, we were surprised to find it completely covered by about 60 cm of water.. One car was already stuck in the water, but our super car (with the excellent driver..) slowly ploughed through the water and up on the highway. I now understand why some cars around here have those snorkel thingies on them. I mean, I understand why they could be useful, I dont understand why some people would need them though as I bet they never head out of the Gringo Bubble that is Santa Ana and Escazu.

I love these surprises that nature throws at us over here, its beauty amazes me every day, and the impressive power of the elements has definitely made an impact on me. Especially this Sunday as I was flipped over by a huge wave over at Barranca, dragged along the bottom and held down until I ran out of air before it decided to spit me out. I came out spluttering like a half drowned cat, clinging to my board while trying to catch my breath. Scary.

But just like the wave and the force of the water really brought me to its knees, a few minutes later, I was up on the board, taming the wave, having one of my best rides ever. ❤

I do love how much nature affects every aspect of life over here. And I especially love it when you learn to just go with it all and realise its all there to be used to your pure enjoyment, but its up to you to take advantage of it and make the most of it! Although, I do think I will need some professional rain gear to survive the remaining months of rain over here, as apparently the best is yet to come…

Leave a Reply

