The Five Pillars of Happiness

So this is turning into a bit of a self help blog me thinks.. 🙂 I assure you, this was not really the main aim with the blog, and it will not become the main aim, but since its MY blog I get to chose what we talk about here.. 😉 And at least for me, this is a very interesting topic at the moment. Those of you who are not in need of any realignment or any more happiness, do not despair, I will move on to other topics after this, in the mean time though, I hope you can try to find this topic interesting anyway for what it is. After all, everyone is searching for happiness, aren’t they?

Just to be clear on something, it is not the holy grail of happiness I am about to reveal to you. My apologies for any high expectations I might have raised in the first paragraph. This is simply the first post in a series of 6, discussing a few areas and things related to them that I try to maintain as well as I can for a healthy balance in life, something that will then facilitate my Happiness. Its as simple as that, but believe me, sometimes it feels much more complicated, especially when you try to appease all five areas at the same time.

The idea for this series of posts is to one by one lay out my five pillars of happiness, clearly define them in writing instead of just having them in my head and then hopefully have a clearer idea of what I need to work on when I feel a slight shiver in my happiness foundation. The seeds for the idea of the five pillars were sown already during my time in Barcelona, but over the years the idea has slowly grown into something I realise is of great meaning to me. Unfortunately even after many years, I still feel the structure in my mind is not yet crystal clear, but I hope these blog posts will help me get a clearer, final picture in my mind of all of this.

This whole thing started with the sudden realization that three areas of my life were massively faulty and not stable enough to serve as the foundation that I want to base my life on. Having three areas so out of place made me feel unbalanced, out of place and unhappy, and this in turn made me continuously striving towards something that would correct the situation. Unfortunately I was never really sure what needed correction and what was already ok, making it difficult to single out the things I needed to focus on.

So I kept on being all wishy washy with everything, searching for happiness all over the place, and especially in the wrong places, before I realised its not ONE thing I need to make me happy, I need MANY things. To be specific, I realised there were five specific things I liked having in my life and that it was exactly these areas I needed to focus on in order to achieve my foundation for happiness.

I do admit that the reason I was in this mess was because I had ignored my true self for quite a few years, I also admit I had not been paying any attention to the faulty pillars while they were slowly eroding and crumbling to pieces, and lastly I admit that they did so exactly because of this lack of attention to them. But having slowly realised where the fault was has made it easier to little by little start building the pillars up again, and as a result, restating the balance into my life.

Without further ado, let me introduce you to My Five Pillars of Happiness (as well as the following blog posts):

Pillar 1: Home

Pillar 2: Family and Friends

Pillar 3: Love

Pillar 4: Work

Pillar 5: Health and Fitness

I wont go into these topics any more in this post, we will be here all evening if I do. Instead, I will discuss one pillar at a time over the next few days so there is enough time to reflect between each pillar, and I think by next week or so the complete picture will be revealed. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

