Stumbling on Happiness

I don’t mean to brag, but I have lots of books. I am already starting to have quite the collection here, as well as a bit of a collection over in England where I set up camp last. Then there are the ones that are neatly stored in boxes over in Finland and the ones that are still kicking around in Spain. Not to mention all the books I have lent people that are currently floating around all over the world. Well, in general it has become somewhat difficult to keep track of them all.

The book I was missing the most at the moment is “Stumbling on Happiness” by Dan Gilbert, well, that was until I realized that I had been clever enough to bring it with me so I could finally finish it! I started the book about 2 years ago, and I think I am still only on page 80 or so.. Its a bit ironic that I havent managed to read the book yet, especially considering I have read a lot of online stuff about it as well as just today rewatched the excellent TEDtalk that Dan Gilbert gave about this exact topic.. I will have to try to pick it up again soon, if only so I can finally find out more about where to locate Happiness.

Actually, after a bit of soul searching these last few years, I think I am finally, little by little realising what makes me happy and what keeps me happy on a day to day basis. Nevertheless, I still have quite a long way to go to really “get it”, but then again, what fun would it be if it was just around the corner? At least I hope the journey there will be as fun as the destination.

Anyways, in the meantime, while you and I are both stumbling around, why not watch the below video and pay some attention to Dan’s hypothesis that we as human beings are actually better off in a world of limits and boundaries that are helping us “make do” and “settle for things” in order to lead a happier life, instead of a world of freedom? Its quite an interesting thought, but I think he is on to something here. Watch it and let me know what you think..

Leave a Reply

