My Inner Gardener

My “Inner Gardener” is dying to get out.. I can feel her trying to weed her way out into the spotlight. She is dying to bask in the feeling of accomplishment in the aftermath of a successful pruning operation or simple cultivation experimentation.. Unfortunately my everyday self is failing her miserably.

A few weeks ago we set out to implement our own little herb garden on one of our terraces. We ventured off to EPA early in the morning and picked up rosemary, coriander, thyme, basil and four different chilli plants along with all the necessary tools for setting up a herbal headquarters.My Two Lovely (Still Alive) Basil Plants

So far all went well, after all, I am pretty good at the spending money bit. The replanting also went well and actually, the first few weeks have generally given us much pleasure and enjoyment from our own herbs while cooking.

Sadly, the coriander plant started to look a bit pale within a few days already. The latest update on poor Miss Coriander is not good. The poor thing is about to whither away, she has already lost a lot of colour and this morning I noticed that actually, I think mould is setting up camp… Not good…

Unfortunately I am a terrible apprentice of Tethys and have forgotten to water my lovely herbs on various occasions, resulting in the rather whithered look of most of my plants at midday today when I popped by the house. Thankfully I did have time to attend to them and I hope I was not too generous with my little red watering can this time, provoking the opposite effect on the poor dehydrated lives.

I have been really keen to expand my garden by adding tomato plants to it as well, but when my colleague today reminded me of the fact that she has some small plants for me to have whenever I want to, I did feel a bit worried. Would I be able to take on even more plants? Will I be happy to take on this risk of possibly having even more dead plant souls on my conscience than what I have at the moment? (Please forgive me “San Fransisco” and  “San Diego” for failing you at the age of 8 and leaving you out in the scorching sunshine with no water…)

Then again, my Inner Gardener would love the opportunity to possibly be able to harvest my own tomatoes. Imagine, I could have lovely, ripe cherry tomatoes, freshly picked each day from my own little garden… Hmmm… I think its time for me to sit down with my Inner Gardener self and have a little chat to see how we can make this work, since after all, I am quite keen for my Inner Gardener to succeed as well as for me to get some fresh cherry tomatoes to put in my salad..

Leave a Reply

