Tea Time

Following my break up with coffee last October, it did not take very long before I had a new liquid infatuation.. Tea. 

Nowadays, I am happily sipping tea all day long, varying between green tea, white tea, mint infusions and the occational Oolong tea. And I must say, I am feeling better than ever.

Going from a Latte Loving, Hyperactive Coffee Addict to a much more “serene and calm” (Yes, yes I know what all of you who know me are thinking, but there has definitely been a difference!) tea drinker has done wonders for my ADHD tendencies as well as the well being of my tummy and nerves. I can’t say I dont miss coffee, I do have moments when I would love to just run to Starbucks and demand a Tall Soya Latte or a Caramel Frappuccino Light, but these moments are actually few and far between nowadays.

Nowadays I crave a lovely cup of green tea in the morning, a refreshing cup of mint tea after lunch and a few random cups strewn out across the day to keep my tea levels topped up, the smile on my face and my internal calm when faced with the challenges life blesses us with.

Over here I have found a new favourite, the local “Manza Te” brand that sells a lovely green tea and a beautiful mint infusion. But I must say, I do miss my Dr Stuart’s Echinacea tea and a few other ones that I used to drink in the UK, so tea is one thing I am definitely stocking up on when I go there next. Then again, thanks to having been thrown into a new country, you end up trying new things and hence also finding new treasures, such as the Celestial Cinnamon and Apple tea, an absolutely gorgeously warming flavour that is perfect before going to bed..

With so many wonderful flavours, so many great health benefits and the blissful feeling one gets while sipping a lovely cup, its no wonder that the West European retail market for tea has been growing annually by about 3.5 percent over the last decade, hitting the €4 billion mark in 2009 according to the market research firm Euromonitor International, and I bet this figure will keep growing.. At least I will happily keep sipping and supporting!

Leave a Reply

